Pool of Paradise: The Nightingale

This is the first episode of our Pool of Paradise project.  The story for the Nightingale is below and the lesson plan that goes with it.

 

NIGHTINGALE

 

The Nightingale sings each night the songs of Daoud,

 

But the nightingale thought only of its rose and not its thorns or the plant or the leaves or the roots or the earth, air and water.

 

The nightingale sang,

 

“Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You.

I will praise You as long as I live, and in Your Name I will lift up my hands.

I think of you through the watches of the night.

Because You are my help, I sing in the shadow of Your Wings.

My soul clings to You; Your Right Hand upholds me.

 

“I will sing of Your Strength, in the morning I will sing of Your Love;

for You are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.

From the ends of the earth I call to You, I call as my heart grows faint;

lead me to the rock that is higher than I,

For You have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe.”

 

Behind the face of his beloved rose was the face of the One Who Created All.  The nightingale said, “I am weak and cannot leave my illusions and seek the Creator of My Beloved.”

 

 

LESSON PLAN

 

After reading the passage about the Nightingale your child will place the Nightingale medallion on the pool at the top and the birds that will follow will go the left so that they are moving counter clockwise around the pool.

 

Discussion questions:  Why is the bird having difficulty to make the journey?  What do you think the Hoopoe bird will say to convince the Nightingale to go on the journey?

 

 

img_8795

 

 

When we discussed the story my son asked why the Rose had thorns.  When I asked him how the Hoopoe could convince the Nightingale to come he said the Nightingale should bring 2 roses on the journey, one for itself and one for the Simourgh.
Please share your ideas for teaching children the rites of Ramadan.

 

Leave a Reply

