Dervish Dolls: Ladies

I have been inspired by the many peg dolls I have seen online recently for Muslim children.

I purchased some little peg dolls from Amazon.com.

img_4933-1

First I wrapped each doll in a fabric dress and glued the seam with regular white craft glue.

img_4740

After the dresses were dry I applied a black make up pencil to each face to form eyes and eyebrows.

img_4845
img_4855
img_4861
Next I painted a headscarf onto each doll.

When the paint dried I glued a shawl to the crown of each head.

When the glue dried I wrapped the shawl around each figure and applied glue. I used a small piece of removable tape to hold the clothing down while it dried.  Once the glue dried I removed the tape and trimmed the excess fabric from the bottom of each doll so that they stood up properly.

img_4931-1

We look forward to creating more creative play activities for these new Dervish Dolls soon.

Please share your ideas for creating unique and special toys for Muslim children.

Leave a Reply

