36. Illuminated Quran: Ya Sin Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson for 36. Illuminated Quran: Ya Sin.

This surah speaks about the fire that did not burn in the story of Musa (a).  We reviewed this story in chapter 17 of  The Story of Moses by Karima Sperling.

After reading the story I asked my son why the fire on the acacia bush did not burn.  He said you could put infinity water on it and the flame would not go out.  I asked him if it was a special kind of fire and he said yes.

I asked my son what this miracle shows about the power of Allah (s).  He said yes that Allah (s) can make a fire that does not burn and a sandwich with air in it, but only my son knows why that would be miraculous.


I asked my son what Musa (a) thought of the tree of flames.  He said he did not know.  I asked him if Musa (a) thought the tree of flames was strange.  He said yes.

I asked my son what Musa (a) thought of the voice from the tree of flames.  He said that Musa (a) understood that it was Allah (s) because the things the voice said are not the kind of things that Shaitan would say.

This surah speaks about the miracle of the created world.  I asked my son why did he think Allah (s) created the world.  My son said he did not know.  I asked my son what we have to do here in the world.  He said we come here to learn.  I said yes, inshallah.

I asked my son if he could think of any other miracles of Allah (s).  He said no.  I asked him about the parting of the Red Sea and he said yes, that was a miracle.

Please share your ideas for teaching the meaning of the Quran to children.

 

Leave a Reply

