Tree of Prophets: Luqman (a)

Tonight we read the story of Luqman (a) in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.

I asked my son if he would like to raise eagles like Luqman (a) and he was enthusiastic.  I asked him what he would do if he had an eagle and he said that he would like to take the eagle for a walk while holding its lead.


We talked about the advice that Luqman (a) gave to his son about respecting his parents.  He said that the only time we should not listen to our parents is when they say to worship other than Allah (s).  I asked him when we should listen to our parents.  He said we should listen when they tell us to pray, read Quran, eat halal food, and not to eat haram food or pigs.  My son then asked why people sometimes eat hot dogs with pork.  I said that maybe those people are not Muslim so it is not a concern for them.

Please share your ideas for teaching the lives of the Prophets with children.

Leave a Reply

