27. Illuminated Quran: The Ant Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson for 27. Illuminated Quran: The Ant.

This surah speaks about the story of Sulayman (a) and the ant so we reread the story of Sulayman (a) in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.  This is passage is part of our Tree of Prophets  series: Tree of Prophets: Sulayman (a).

My son wanted to know why the bad jinns listened to Sulayman (a).  I explained that there was an angel with a sword to attack disobedient jinn.  (This detail is in the adult version of the Lore of Light: Volume 2 by Hajjah Amina Adil.)

I asked my son what was the best part of Sulayman’s (a) story.  He said that he liked the part where Sulayman (a) flew on his magic carpet.  My son also thought that it was cool that Sulayman commanded the jinn and could speak the language of the birds.


My son was also interested in the Hoopoe bird in Sulayman’s (a) story because we learned a little bit about this bird in our Pool of Paradise project for Ramadan.


I asked my son what special relationship other Prophets and Awliah have with the animals and we discussed Prophet Muahmmad’s (s) encounter with the lion when he was a child in the care of Halima as Sadia.  I asked my son if the Prophet (s) was afraid and he said no.

This surah mentions some of the miracles that occurred in the story of Sulayman (a).  I asked my son why some people believe without a miracle.  He said he didn’t know and then I asked him why he believed without seeing a miracle.  He said that you know it in your heart and can have dreams that make you believe.

Please share your experiences with exploring the meaning of the Quran with children.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

