Sira: Passing

Today we read about the year that the Prophet (s) passed away.  He went on Hajj one last time and met with many people. He gave final lectures to guide his followers and then he returned to Allah (s).  We learned that he was buried in the house of Aisha (r).

My son wanted to know where the Prophet’s (s) turban is today and I told him that I think it is in Topkapi museum in Istanbul.  He wanted to know how it got there and I said I would need to get back to him about that.

Now that we have completed this Sira for children I very much see the need for a Sira that would logically follow this for next year.  I would like to prepare one with many photographs of the sites and artifacts mentioned in the story so that when my son asks questions I can show him.  My son has also expressed an earnest wish to go view some of these artifacts in person sometime soon.  I think that would make an excellent field trip!

If you would like to read more of the Sira of the Prophet (s) to your children please see The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.
Please share your ideas for teaching the Sira of the Prophet (s) for children.

Leave a Reply

