Sira: Uhud 

Today we reviewed the battle of Uhud.  Half way through the story my son was confused a bit and thought we were reading about the battle at Helms Deep in The Two Towers.  There were archers, magical swords, soldiers in chain mail and a great many well armed aggressors.  When I thought about it I could see what he meant!

We both were impressed by the two ladies who fought in the battle, Nusayba (r) and Umm Ummara (r).  Then my son told me that Lady Arwen and Lady Eowyn were pretty heroic too and that brave ladies must eat a lot of vegetables to be strong.

I have to say that this was one of the episodes that was the most fun when my son shared his thoughts about the story.

I hope that when you read these stories with your children that you share their thoughts with us.

The image for this story is the peacock feather that Hamza (r) the Uncle of the Prophet (s) had in his turban during the battle.

If you would like to read more of the Sira of the Prophet (s) to your children please see The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.
Please share your ideas for teaching the Sira of the Prophet (s) with children.

Leave a Reply

