Sira: The Caravan

Tonight we learned about a caravan that the Prophet (s) saw on his night journey on the way to Jerusalem in the children’s Sira The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.

My son asked what the caravan that the Prophet (s) saw moving towards Mecca was doing.  I explained that they were brining things to sell in Mecca.  My son asked what kinds of things,  was it food and things like that.  I said yes food maybe and other things.


This part of the story talked about some of the things that Allah (s) prohibited like the killing of babies.  My son wanted to know why people would kill their babies.  I explained that in the time of the Prophet (s) sometimes people would kill babies that they did not think they could feed them.  My son asked why there was no food.  I explained that a famine would happen sometimes when there was no rain.

Please share your ideas for teaching children about the Sira of the Prophet (s).

Leave a Reply

