Sira: The Tree of Souls

Tonight we learned about The Tree of Life that the Prophet (s) saw on his Miraj in the children’s Sira The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.

My son wanted to know if our names were written on The Tree of Life.  I said yes they are because we are alive.  My son was concerned about anyone who might share his same name and be dead and the confusion that would cause in heaven.  I said not to worry that the tree could tell the difference.


Next my son asked if the Prophet Muhammad’s (s) leaf was still in the tree or not because he had died but was still alive in his grave.  I said that was a very good question.  If someone dies their leaf falls to the ground but what if they are still living in their grave?  I do not know the answer to this question but I said that I would try to find out for him.

We learned that the when the leaf falls it is ground up and put into our food and my son wanted to know why.  I said that maybe the leaf has something to do with causing our death since some people keep living on and on even if they have poor health and some people die suddenly from accidents etc.

My son asked if he would eat his leaf when he passes away one day and I said that yes I think so.  My son wanted to know when this would be and I said that we don’t know when we will die, only Allah (s) knows.

Then my son wanted to know if the angels in heaven have jobs like cooking food and giving us presents.  I said maybe they do.  My son wanted to know if we sleep in Jenna and I said I did not know this either.  Then my son asked if we will pray in Jenna and raise our heads to greet the Prophet Muhammad (s).  I said maybe but I did not know for sure.

My son asked how many heavens there are.  I said that there are 7 heavens mentioned in the book we were reading and then there is the Divine Presence and Paradise but I am not sure if we count those together or separately.  He asked why there are 7 heavens and Paradise and I said that 7 is a special number and 8 is as well but I did not know the exact significance.

Please share your ideas for teaching the Sira of the Prophet (s) to children.

Leave a Reply

