Mawlid Crafts: Mahmud

This year when I hung the ornaments for the Mawlid holiday my 3 year old was sad and asked me where Mahmud the elephant and the ababil birds were.  I had included ornaments that connected directly to the event of the Prophet’s (s) birth but I had not realized how important the earlier part of the Sira story was to my children.

img_3437
When I was planning the crafts for our children’s Mawlid party I decided to include Mahmud the elephant.

I traced an elephant template onto cardstock and then gave the cards to the children to decorate and cut out.


If you would like to share more of the Mawlid story with your children please see the children’s Sira The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.

Please share your ideas for celebrating Mawlid with children.

Leave a Reply

