Sira: The Year of the Elephant

Tonight we read about the year of the elephant in the children’s Sira The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.

My son asked if the army of Abraha was bad.  I asked him if they were travelling to destroy the Kaaba does that mean they are bad.  He said yes.

My son was very concerned about elephant Mahmud and he wanted to know why the soldiers were hurting him.  I said they were hurting Mahmud because he would not follow the army into Mecca and attack the Kaaba.


My son asked if Allah (s) told the Quraysh to hide from the army of Abraha.  I said not exactly because Abdul Muttalib told them to hide.  My son wanted to know if Abdul Muttalib hid as well.  I said I thought so.  My son asked if the army could kill people and I said yes they could but Allah (s) protected Mecca.


My son then asked what happened to Mahmud.  I looked up the elephant Mahmud in The Animals of Paradise by Karima Sperling.  There is a chapter concerning Mahmud but it does not say what happened to Mahmud after the army was destroyed.


Please share your ideas for teaching children about the Sira of the Prophet Muhammad (s).

Leave a Reply

