Sira: The Green Lamp

Tonight we reviewed the story of the creation of the light of the Prophet (s) in The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.  This year for Rabi al Awal my son insisted that we read the Sira again. I had planned to only read the birth story of the Prophet (s) because we are now in the middle of our Illuminated Quran Project and I had planned to start our 99 Names: A Visual Tasbih soon, but to my son the Masjid of Sira Project is now Mawlid tradition and so he helped me mount the canvas on the wall and add the green lamp to the first port.

img_2371
The story be began with a description of the creation of the light of the Prophet (s).  My son asked if Allah (s) created himself.  I said that no Allah (s) was not created.  My son asked why the light of the Prophet (s) was with Allah (s) for a very very long time.  I said that I did not know why but that maybe Allah (s) was teaching the Prophet (s).

img_2828
My son asked if the light of Muhammad (s) is with Allah (s) right now.  I said that I did not know for sure but that the Prophet (s) is also still alive in his grave so I was not sure if he could be in two places at once but that it was possible.

In the story we learned about the pen and my son wanted to know how the pen wrote by itself.  I said that I did not know either but that it was a special pen.  He asked if anyone knows what the pen looked like.  I said that I did not know for sure but that I painted the pen for the surah about Luqman (a).


My son wanted to know why Allah (s) made bad jinn.  I thought this could be so that we learn what is good from what is bad.

My son wanted to know if Allah (s) made the languages.  I said I did not know for sure but that he did make the heavenly languages and the source of language.  My son asked how Allah (s) created language and I said the same way he made everything else but I did not know the details.  My son asked how Allah (s) made our tongues.  I said that he wrote the instructions in our cells called DNA.

Please share your ideas for sharing the Sira of the Prophet Muhammad (s) with children.

2 thoughts on “Sira: The Green Lamp”

Leave a Reply

