24. Illuminated Quran: The Light Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson plan for 24. Illuminated Quran: The Light.

This surah speaks about animals being created from water.  I asked my son why water is important for living things.  He was not sure.  I asked him if the planets without water look dead.  He agreed.  He asked why they are dead and did they once have life.  I said that some people are trying to find out if they had life once and then lost it but we also do not know if any other planets have life now.  I explained that Mars maybe had life if it had water.

This surah speaks about animals that crawl and walk on 2 legs and 4.  I asked if he can think of an animal that crawls and he said a baby cheetah.  I asked if he could think of an animal that walks on 2 legs and he said a squirrel, or that at least they can stand on 2 legs.  I asked if he could think of an animal that walks on 4 legs and he said a cheetah.

 
This surah speaks about some rules around respecting privacy and taking permission before entering a room etc.  I asked my son what privacy is and he wasnt sure.  I explained that it means you get to have a private place in your home.  I asked him why we are supposed to knock before entering a room.  He said that if a lady is getting dressed we need to knock first.

Please share your experiences with exploring the meaning of the Quran with children.

Leave a Reply

