22. Illuminated Quran: The Hajj Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson plan for 22. Illuminated Quran: The Hajj.

This surah speaks about the Kaaba.  I asked my son why we go around the Kaaba on hajj.  He thought that it might have something to do with the black stone witnessing our presence.  My son went on to say that the stone is actually white but it became black with our sins.

I asked my son how the stone became black.  He said it is black because we are being bad.  He asked why the stone won’t be white again.  I said that is did not know if it could be white again.


This surah discusses idol worship and how an idol cannot even make a fly.  We talked about why some people worship idols.  My son said that he did not know why they do that.  I asked him why he gives sadaqa and prays to Allah (s).  He said because he is a muslim.  I asked if he ever asks Allah (s) for anything.  He said yes.  I asked him if people go to idols to ask for things like we ask Allah (s).  He said that those people do not know that when you pray to an idol the idol cannot answer their prayer.  I said that this was so and that is why they do this, because they have something to pray for but they do not know the best way to ask.

Please share your ideas for exploring the meaning of the Quran with children.

Leave a Reply

