Arabian Nights: The Caliph and the Cucumbers

Tonight we read the story of The Caliph and the Cucumbers in Tenggren’s Golden Tales from the Arabian Nights.

This story is about a poor farmer that hopes to sell his out of season cucumbers to the caliph.  My son wanted to know why the caliph kept lowering the price while he bargained with the farmer.  I explained that the caliph and the farmer were bargaining.

 
My son wanted to know if a caliph is like a king and I said yes in this story that is what they mean.  My son wanted to know why a king would need to pay money.  I said that the king wanted to be fair.

This story was short compared to the others and my son wanted to know why.  I told him that maybe the night that Scheherazade told this story she did not have much time.

Please share your ideas for teaching children about the literature of the Muslim world.

 

 

Leave a Reply

