17. Illuminated Quran: The Night Journey Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson for 17. Illuminated Quran: The Night Journey.

Fort this surah we reviewed the Night Journey of the Prophet (s) in The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil in chapter 12. The Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Heavens.

While reading this chapter my son wanted to know if space is like a huge planet in outer space.  I said that there are planets in outer space but we don’t know what is beyond outer space.  He asked if Allah (s) knows and I said yes.  Then he asked if Jenna is higher (I think he meant farther) than we think.  He asked if you go on a night journey can you bring food if you want to make it.  I said that I didn’t know.

We talked about the Conference of the Birds where they reached the Pool of Paradise by flying.  My son wanted to know how the birds reached paradise and we talked about how the birds of the story had to fight their egos to reach Paradise.  My son asked if we could reach Paradise by fighting our egos too.  I said that is probably the only way to reach Paradise.  If you would like to know more about our project for the Conference of the birds story for children please see our Ramadan curriculum at this link: Ramadan: Pool of Paradise Introduction.

The night journey story and the The Night Journey surah both speak about the Bayt al-Mamur.  My son wanted to know if the Kaaba in Mecca looks like the Bayt al-Mamur and I said no because the Bayt al-Mamur is made of rubies and emeralds.

IMG_5430

I asked my son what happened to the first Kaaba. We discussed how it was destroyed in the flood of Nuh (a).

This surah speaks about the Tahajud night prayers.  We discussed how the night prayers are like extra credit and you can have more blessings for doing extra stuff.  He asked if he could get a flood of lollipop candy for doing extra prayers.  I said that we needed to work on doing the obligatory prayers first and then see if the extra prayers could bring extra candy.

This surah speaks about the Quran coming to the Prophet (s) in parts so I asked my son why he thought that it came in parts.  We decided that it would probably be too long otherwise and that certain surahs seemed to be for certain times in the sira of the Prophet (s).

Please share your experiences with exploring the meaning of the Quran with children.

 

 

Leave a Reply

