Tree of Prophets: Yusuf (a)

Tonight we read the story of Yusuf (a) in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.

My son wanted to know if Pharaoh was bad.  I said that the Pharaoh at the time of Yusuf (a) let him out of prison and made him master of the storehouses so maybe he was good.


My son wanted to know why there were a lot of Pharaohs.  I explained that Egypt was a kingdom for a very long time.  He asked me if all the bad Pharoahs went to hell.  I said that Allah (s) knows.  He asked if there are Pharoahs in the museum.  I told him that there were and I found some photos online to show him.  I found a photo of a mummy and a sarcophagus.  My son wanted to know why they looked scary.  I told him that they used bandages and herbs to preserve the body and it looks scary because dried bodies and bones can be frightening because looking at death and thinking about death is unnerving.

My son asked why they make the mummy dry.  I told him that it was part of their religion to preserve the body so that their soul could find the body again after death.  My son wanted to know why people think mummies are monsters.  I explained that some people dress up as mummies for Halloween and that is why they are associated with monsters but that halloween has nothing to do with ancient egyptian religion and those two ideas were mixed up later on.

After reviewing Yusuf’s (a) story I asked my son why Yusuf’s (a) brothers threw him into the well.  My son said they threw him in the well because their father didn’t love them as much as Yusuf (a).  I asked my son why they would throw Yusuf (a) in a well because their father loved him more.  We discussed the concept of jealousy.

I asked my son what the most important thing about Yusuf’s (a) story was.  We talked about the way he began to guide the people of Egypt.

Please share your ideas for teaching children about the lives of the Prophets.

2 thoughts on “Tree of Prophets: Yusuf (a)”

Leave a Reply

