11. Illuminated Quran: Hud Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson plan for the 11. Illuminated Quran: Hud .

This surah concerns stories of Hud (a) and Nuh (a).

I asked my son what happened to the people who did not listen to Nuh (a) before the flood.  We discussed what became of his son that went to the mountain.  My son wanted to know why he did not listen to his father.  I said I was not sure but that his son thought he would be safe from the water on the mountain but he was not and he drowned.

For this surah we reviewed the story of Hud (a) in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.  The following section is also part of out Tree of Prophets  project: Tree of Prophets: Hud (a).

My son wanted to know why the white cloud that came to the people of Ad had scorpions.  I told him that it was one of the clouds that were sent to punish the people who were not listening to Allah (s).

My son wanted to know why the second cloud was red.  I told him that the red cloud rains fire.  He wanted to know if the red cloud would rain fire on bad people.  I said maybe but the black cloud was chosen and not the red.

My son wanted to know why the people of Ad chose the black cloud.  I told him that they chose the black the cloud because they thought it was a rain cloud but it was really full of scary bird like creatures.  My son wanted to know why they did not choose no cloud.  I told him that the drought in that country had been very difficult for the people of Ad and they needed the rain.

I asked my son what happened to the people of Ad.  He said the black cloud killed them.  My son wanted to know why the black cloud killed them and I told him that they did not listen to the warning of Hud (a).  He asked why they did not listen to their prophet and I said that we all have difficulty to follow the prophets as well as we should.

We discussed the cities that fell and some that still stand after a prophet was sent to them.  We tried to think of a city that still stands and we thought of Mecca.  We tried to think of a city that was destroyed and we thought of area of the Dead Sea that was destroyed before Lut (a) left.

Please share your ideas for exploring the meaning of Quran with children.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

