9. Illuminated Quran: The Repentance Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson plan for 9. Illuminated Quran: The Repentance.

First we read about the Treaty of Hudaybiyah (chapter 23) in The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.  When we read about the part where Qaswa sat down and would not move on the way to Mecca we were reminded of the elephant Mahmud who sat down and refused to attack the Kaba.

img_5436

My son wanted to know what happened to the elephant Mahmud after Abraha was defeated.  I said I did not know but that I ordered a book about The Animals of Paradise by Karima Sperling and maybe once we receive it I could look and see if there was any more information about Mahmud the elephant.

 

 
When we read about  the party of 1,500 that traveled with the Prophet (s) to Hudaybiyah my son said that it must have been a very big caravan.

Next we read about the Conquest of Mecca (chapter 27) in The Light of Muhammad by Hajjah Amina Adil.  We discussed what the responsibility of Muslims is towards people who are fleeing conflict.  My son said that it is our responsibility to help them.  I asked him why that is our responsabilty and he said that we are supposed to be good and follow the example of the Prophet (s).

Next we talked about what repentance is which is discussed in this surah.  My son wasn’t sure what the word meant so I explained that it means you are sorry when you have made a bad choice.  This surah also speaks about the importance of keeping your word and warns us that believers who go back on their word will be punished.  I asked m son if he knew what it means to keep your word.  He said he wasn’t sure so I explained that it means that you  must keep your promise and that if you can’t keep your promise than people cannot trust you.

Please share your ideas for exploring the meaning of Quran with children.

Leave a Reply

