6. Illuminated Quran: The Cattle Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson plan for 6. Illuminated Quran: The Cattle.

We discussed the part of Ibrahim’s (a) story where he saw the star, moon and sun for the first time.  My son wanted to know why Ibrahim (a) thought these things were Allah (s).  I told him that his mother initially told Ibrahim (a) this because she was from a people who worshiped idols and she did not know otherwise.

If you would liket to read more about Ibrahim (a) to  your children there is a chapter about him in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.  This story is also part of our Tree of Prophets  project and the post concerning Ibrahim (a) is at this link: Tree of Prophets:  Ibrahim (a).

 
This surah speaks about the unseen.  I asked my son what he thought the unseen was and he said it was like Allah (s) and the angels.

This surah speaks about Allah (s) causing the seeds to sprout.  I asked my son how seeds grow.  He said you plant them in the ground and add water.

This surah speaks about the importance on only worshiping Allah (s) and nothing else.  I asked my son why this is and he said that is because Allah (s) is the only God in the whole wide world.

Please share your ideas for teaching children about the meaning of the Quran.

Leave a Reply

