4. Illuminated Quran: The Women Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson plan for 4. Illuminated Quran: The Women.

This surah speaks about ladies and families.  I asked my son how the Prophet (s) treated ladies.  He said that he was nice and gave gifts to the ladies of his family and helped with cleaning and laundry in the house.

 
The surah speaks about Isa (a) and Mariam (r).  I read the story of Isa (a) in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.  This story is also part of our Tree of Prophets  project and the post for Isa (a) can be found at this link: Tree of Prophets: Isa (a).

I asked my son if we believe that Mariam (r) is the mother of Prophet Isa (a). He said yes.  I asked him if we believe that Prophet Isa (a) was killed by the Romans.  He said no that we believe that the Romans killed someone who looked like him.  My son wanted to know why the Romans wanted to kill Prophet Isa (a) and I told him that there were people who did not like the things that Prophet Isa (a) was teaching.

My son asked what will happen when Isa (a) returns to earth.  I told him that he is going to bring a time of peace.

We discussed the laws of inheritance mentioned in this surah and what happens when someone passes away.  I asked him what we do with their possessions and he said that the family receives it and uses it to live after their family member passes away.

Please share your ideas for teaching children about the meaning of the Quran.

Leave a Reply

