3. Illuminated Quran:  House of Imran Lesson Review

Tonight we reviewed the lesson for 3. Illuminated Quran: The House of Imran.

This surah reviews the stories of Zachairiah (a), Mariam (r) and Isa (a).

First we read the story of Zachariah (a) in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.

I asked my son why Zachariah (a) asked for a child after he saw Mariam (r) with a bowl of fruits in her prayer niche (mihrab).  He said that Zachariah (a) asked this because he really wanted a baby.  My son said he would want fruit too and maybe some candy.

Next we briefly reviewed the part of Isa’s (a) story where he created a bat out of clay.  My son wanted to know if the bat was created in the day or the night.  I said that I did not know but that it was an interesting question.  I asked him why he wanted to know.  My son said that Bats live at night and eat mosquitos.  Then he wanted to know what happens if a bat bites you.  I said that you might bleed but that most bats only eat insects.


Please share your experiences when teaching your children about the meaning of the Quran.

Leave a Reply

