Tree of Prophets: Ismail (a)

Tonight we reviewed the story of Ismail (a) for our Tree of Prophets project.  If you would like to read this story to your children there is a chapter concerning Ismail (a) in My Little Lore of Light by Hajjah Amina Adil.  


My son stared off by telling me that he doesn’t like this story.  I asked him why and he said he didn’t understand why Ibrahim (a) would try to kill Ismail (a).  

I agreed that it was a difficult thing to understand but that it was a test and that Ibrahim (a) did not really kill Ismail (a) and the angel protected him.  

He then asked why Allah (s) tested Ibrahim (a) in this way.  I told him that is a very good question. I said that I think it is because Ibrahim (a) was asked to sacrifice the thing he loved most and that Allah (s) wants us to love our Lord more than our family even.  My son wanted to know how you do that.  I said that is a good question but that I am not sure how either, except that we are supposed to start by loving the things Allah (s) created.

Please share your ideas for teaching children about the lives of the Prophets.  

Leave a Reply

