Dervish Dolls: Lady Scheherazade 

This week I completed this prototype for our Dervish Dolls series.  I wanted to find a creative way to represent a lady doll that we could use to learn about literature from the Muslim world.  

This doll is supposed to represent the Lady Scherherazade from the Arabian Nights stories.  I am hoping to find a way to use this doll for a series based on these stories soon.  

I designed a flower headdress for her and a robe with bell sleeves.  I modified her eyes and eyebrows to follow the style the of the Persian Miniatures.

I have had requests from some of our readers interested in buying a doll like this so I have made inquiries with the Etsy shop that produces the other Dervish Dolls in our series.  I may have a model of this lady doll to show you from WaldorfMagicGlade shortly and I will post it once I have photos.  This shop has agreed to take custom orders for this doll but after August there will be a 2-3 week wait.  

Please share your ideas for teaching children about literature from the Muslim world.  

2 thoughts on “Dervish Dolls: Lady Scheherazade ”

Leave a Reply

