Silsila: 17. Muhammad Bahauddin Shah Naqshband (q)

 Last night we reviewed the seventeenth figure on the Silsila:  Muhammad Bahauddin Shah Naqshband (q).

We learned that when Shah Naqshband’s (q) shaykh sent him out of the house that Shah Naqshband (q) waited on the front step in the snow all night.  I asked my son if he would have waited like that all night in the snow and he was very honest: he said no he would not have.  I told him that I probably would not have either.  I was sort of teasing my son but it is true that in this way like in many other ways we are not like the Awliya in our strengths or understanding.  We try to emulate but fail miserably most of the time.  

We learned about the three principles that Shah Naqshband (q) brought to the Naqshbamdi Sufi Way including the dzikr of the heart.

  
11 principles in all have been mentioned so far and I think that it would be nice to do a lesson plan on these principles along with this Silsila project.  I am going to think about it.

  
Please share your ideas for teaching children about the Awliya.  

Leave a Reply

