Early Reader: My Turban

I have recently begun reading practice with my son who has been ready to read simple words for a few weeks.  Today I finished making his first early reader.  I did try to find something prefabricated but they were all a little too advanced with too many complicated sound rules.  I designed the text to mostly use the short vowel sounds where possible.  My hope is that after mastering this text he will be able to move on to learn more complex reading sounds.

The subject of the reader is his turban.  I chose to make the book personalized for him because I find that children are particularly motivated when the lesson is personalized to their experience and interests.

If you have ideas for early readers or reading development materials for young Muslims please share them with us.

There is now a eBook version with the artwork featured in this post and a print version with photographs instead of drawings.

 


One thought on “Early Reader: My Turban”

Leave a Reply

