Mawlid around the World 

When I look at traditional Islamic Art and architecture it is clear to me that decoration is culturally important.  From what I understand holiday decorating used to be an elaborate affair in the Muslim world.  Some examples are still available and I would like to highlight a few and perhaps more in a latter post if more examples become available this Mawlid season. 

As a convert I have always felt a little sad around Muslim holidays because they seem to lack the glitter of the holidays I grew up with.  In my culture holidays have a strong and palpable atmosphere, a multi sensory experience.  The decorations, the smells, the tastes and the music all had a strong theme.  

I have attempted in the past to approximate the experience I wished to have for the holidays within the Islamic context but I have not felt entirely successful.

I began researching this article with the intention of finding new ideas and traditional ideas for Mawlid decorating that families can employ to celebrate with their children.

The following are some of the examples that have been submitted from our contributors from around the world.  I want to thank all of them for their help.  I hope that you will be as inspired as I am and even send us your own examples for another post, the more ideas the better!

 This is a light display from Malawi:

 

  
Photographs courtesy of Wobbler Busters (Facebook)

These sandal of the Prophet (s) decorations are from the United States.  

  
This is a light display from Pakistan.  

These are window light displays from the United Kingdom. 

  
These are flags and banners from Palestine. 

   

Mawlid Mubarak to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

